Staff reach service milestones

Staff at St Hugh’s Hospital have been recognised for their hard work and dedication with the presentation of long service awards.

They gathered to celebrate their achievements at a ceremony held on site at the hospital, highlighting the various roles and departments that come together to make St Hugh’s a first-class organisation offering exceptional healthcare.

It was also a special occasion for Tony Barrett, the outgoing chief executive of the Healthcare Management Trust (HMT), St Hugh’s Hospital’s parent organisation. Tony joined just shy of 30 years ago, coming to St Hugh’s when it first opened in Peaks Lane, Grimsby, as head matron and then hospital director before moving to the role of CEO at HMT in 2012. He last month welcomed the beginning of construction work on a new £10-million dementia specialist care home in West Sussex, the latest HMT investment. This was Tony’s last day on site in Grimsby as he now looks forward to enjoying retirement, so it was only right for decorations to be put up and a fantastic cake to be made!

Here is the rollcall in full:

Three years: Michelle Martin, ward support worker; Sally Gower, ward staff nurse; Neil Costello, endoscopy support worker; Alison Potts, previously reception and now bookings administrator; Caroline Bradley, ODP team leader (staff nurse); Chloe Hand, treatment bookings team leader; Lynn Pettitt, previously reception and now ward clerk; Leonnie Wharton, OPD administrator; Mitchell Brooke, porter; Sam Marsh, IPC lead nurse; Emma O’Reilly, ward staff nurse; and Anna Cooper, ward/ODP manager.

Five years: Pete Gresswell, theatre ODP; Glenn Abbot, theatre ODP; Neil Grundy, theatre ODP; Ellen Colley, quality improvement manager/deputy head of clinical services; Viktoria Brown, referrals and enquiries team leader; Gary Allington, facilities manager; Sarah Grantham, cosmetic sister; Sylvia Barton, theatre support worker; Laura Hicks, receptionist; Nikki Bennett, nurse associate; Amanda Croft, referrals and enquiries co-ordinator; Helen Stewart, medical secretary.

Ten years: Kevin Teasdale, physio manager; Jane Pillay, staff nurse; Bev Pexman, staff nurse.

Fifteen years: Gayle Nutt, referrals and enquiries co-ordinator; Samantha Laird, receptionist; Sharon Denton, housekeeper.

Twenty years: Ann Chappell, ward team leader; Michelle Bendall, medical secretary; Sharon Hicks, housekeeper.

Twenty-five years: Diane Barnard, physio.

To see the full photo album visit our Facebook Page 

Interested in a career with St Hugh’s Hospital? Find out more here: